
Best Cheap Electric Unicycles Under $1,000 (2026): What You Give Up
Affiliate disclosure: product links on this page go to Amazon, or to the maker's own store for brands that sell only direct. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you; a link to a maker's store earns us nothing. No retailer or brand sees our picks before they are published or has any say in them. How we choose.
The best cheap electric unicycle is the InMotion V9 at about $800. It is the only InMotion or King Song wheel under $1,000 with suspension (60 mm of air travel), and it adds a 750 Wh battery, a 1,000W rated motor, an IPX6 body rating and UL 2272 certification, sold by InMotion's own Amazon store.
If $800 is too much, the King Song 14D Pro is a light, certified commuter-starter for about $700, and the InMotion V8S gives the most battery per dollar at a $599 sale price when bought direct.
Cheap here means under about $1,000 at the prices we saw on October 9, 2026. We compared battery size, rated motor power, top speed, weight, load limit and warranty from the makers' pages, and worked out cost per watt-hour so the value is visible.
Our top picks at a glance
1. Best under $1,000
INMOTION V9Battery: 750 Wh, 84V · Top speed: 28 mph · Weight: 50.7 lb (spec table) · Max load: 265 lb
2. Best under $750
King Song 14D ProBattery: 420 Wh, 60V · Top speed: 18.6 mph after unlock · Weight: 32 lb · Max load: 265 lb
3. Most battery for the money
INMOTION V8SBattery: 728 Wh · Top speed: 21.7 mph (15.5 mph until raised in the app) · Weight: 35.2 lb · Max load: 264 lb
4. Best under $500
INMOTION V6Battery: 240 Wh · Top speed: 15.5 mph · Weight: 27.6 lb · Max load: 198 lb (spec table)
5. Best cheap trainer
INMOTION E20 (dual-tire trainer)Battery: 240 Wh (48V) · Top speed: 12.4 mph · Weight: 30 lb · Max load: 198 lb
6. Cheapest
INMOTION E20 LiteBattery: 120 Wh (48V) · Top speed: 9.3 mph · Weight: 22 lb · Max load: Not stated by InMotion
| Pick | Battery | Top speed | Weight | Max load | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| INMOTION V9Best under $1,000 | 750 Wh, 84V | 28 mph | 50.7 lb (spec table) | 265 lb | Amazon |
| King Song 14D ProBest under $750 | 420 Wh, 60V | 18.6 mph after unlock | 32 lb | 265 lb | Amazon |
| INMOTION V8SMost battery for the money | 728 Wh | 21.7 mph (15.5 mph until raised in the app) | 35.2 lb | 264 lb | INMOTION |
| INMOTION V6Best under $500 | 240 Wh | 15.5 mph | 27.6 lb | 198 lb (spec table) | INMOTION |
| INMOTION E20 (dual-tire trainer)Best cheap trainer | 240 Wh (48V) | 12.4 mph | 30 lb | 198 lb | Amazon |
| INMOTION E20 LiteCheapest | 120 Wh (48V) | 9.3 mph | 22 lb | Not stated by InMotion | Amazon |
Best under $1,000
INMOTION V9
Suspension, a 750 Wh pack and IPX6 for about $800: the most complete wheel at this price.
- Battery
- 750 Wh, 84V
- Top speed
- 28 mph
- Weight
- 50.7 lb (spec table)
- Max load
- 265 lb
- Motor
- 1,000W rated (2,000W peak)
- Suspension
- 60 mm air
Pros
- Only suspension wheel under $1,000 from InMotion or King Song
- Certified to UL 2272
- IPX6 body rating
- GPS tracking and remote lock through RideConnect
Cons
- Heaviest wheel on this page
- InMotion calls 20 to 30 miles typical, not the 37-mile maximum
- App activation required before first use
- 6-month battery warranty
The V9 is listed at $799 against a regular $1,299, and for that you get 60 mm of air suspension, a 16 x 3 inch tubeless tire, a 1,000W rated motor (2,000W peak), a 750 Wh pack and IPX6. InMotion says to expect 20 to 30 miles typically and at least 15 in any conditions.
Cheap wheels usually skip suspension, so this is the one budget wheel that copes with broken pavement. The cost is weight: 50.7 lb by InMotion's spec table.
Skip it if you are learning and want the lightest possible wheel, or if you need to carry it often; the 32 lb 14D Pro is easier to handle.
Best under $750
King Song 14D Pro
A 32 lb, UL 2272 certified wheel with a 265 lb limit for learners and short trips.
- Battery
- 420 Wh, 60V
- Top speed
- 18.6 mph after unlock
- Weight
- 32 lb
- Max load
- 265 lb
- Motor
- 800W rated (2,400W peak)
- Suspension
- None
Pros
- Light and easy to carry
- Speed limit set in the app
- UL 2272 certified
- King Song warranty: 1 year on the battery against InMotion's 6 months
Cons
- 420 Wh limits trips; 25 miles claimed under ideal conditions
- No suspension
- IPX5, not waterproof per the FAQ
- Costs more per watt-hour than the V9 or V8S
The 14D Pro costs about $700 and weighs 32 lb, with an 800W rated motor (2,400W peak), a 420 Wh, 60V pack, a 14-inch tire, a 265 lb load limit and UL 2272 certification. King Song quotes 18.6 mph after unlock and lets you set the speed limit in its app, and it charges in about 3.5 hours.
It is the cheapest wheel here that suits most adults as both a learning wheel and a short-trip wheel. King Song's warranty policy also covers the battery for a year, twice InMotion's 6 months.
Skip it if you want range for the money; the V8S has 73% more battery for about $100 less on sale.
Most battery for the money
INMOTION V8S
728 Wh at a $599 sale price, for riders who want distance on a budget and will buy direct.
- Battery
- 728 Wh
- Top speed
- 21.7 mph (15.5 mph until raised in the app)
- Weight
- 35.2 lb
- Max load
- 264 lb
- Motor
- 1,000W rated (2,000W peak)
- Suspension
- None
Pros
- Lowest cost per watt-hour on this page
- Nearly the V9's battery at 15.5 lb less
- Ships limited to 15.5 mph, a sensible start for learners
- Retractable handlebar
Cons
- Sold direct, not through InMotion's Amazon store
- InMotion's page does not mention UL certification
- IP54 rating
- Page lists three different cell suppliers and two charge times
The V8S is the range bargain: a 728 Wh pack, a 1,000W rated motor (2,000W peak), a 16 x 2.125 inch tire and a 264 lb load limit at 35.2 lb, for a $599 sale price (regular $1,099). InMotion claims 46.6 miles with no conditions given. Its FAQ says the wheel ships limited to 25 km/h (15.5 mph) until you raise it to 35 km/h in the app.
The stock 84V, 1.5A charger takes about 6 hours (the page also says 6.5), and InMotion says it can be charged at up to 4A. The page is messy, naming BAK, LG M50LT and "premium LG" cells in different places, and it does not mention UL certification.
Skip it if you want a certified wheel bought through Amazon; the 14D Pro and V9 both state UL 2272.
Best under $500
INMOTION V6
A 27.6 lb, 15.5 mph learning wheel for lighter riders, certified to UL 2272.
- Battery
- 240 Wh
- Top speed
- 15.5 mph
- Weight
- 27.6 lb
- Max load
- 198 lb (spec table)
- Motor
- 500W rated (1,000W peak)
- Suspension
- None
Pros
- Lightest single-tire wheel here
- UL 2272 certified, per InMotion
- App adjusts pedal sensitivity and balance angle
- 3-inch wide tubeless tire
Cons
- 198 lb load limit in the spec table (the FAQ says 100 kg)
- 240 Wh and an 18.6-mile claim
- 5-hour charge with no charger output listed
- Sold direct only
The V6 is InMotion's small single-tire wheel at $449: 27.6 lb, a 500W rated motor (1,000W peak), a 240 Wh pack, a 15.5 mph top speed and a 14-inch wheel with a 3-inch wide tubeless tire. InMotion's FAQ calls it beginner-friendly, and the app adjusts pedal sensitivity and balance angle.
It is a learning and short-hop wheel. The 240 Wh pack and 198 lb limit rule it out for most adult commutes, and InMotion does not list the charger's output, only a 5-hour charge. For a lighter rider who wants one cheap wheel to learn on and ride around the neighborhood, it is the lowest-cost single-tire option from either maker.
Skip it if you weigh near 198 lb; the 14D Pro carries 265 lb.
Best cheap trainer
INMOTION E20 (dual-tire trainer)
A dual-tire trainer for riders under 198 lb who want the easiest first rides.
- Battery
- 240 Wh (48V)
- Top speed
- 12.4 mph
- Weight
- 30 lb
- Max load
- 198 lb
- Motor
- 450W rated (900W peak)
- Suspension
- None
Pros
- Twin tires handle side-to-side balance, per InMotion
- Certified to UL 2272
- 3.5-hour charge
- Sold by InMotion's Amazon store
Cons
- 198 lb load limit
- 12.4 mph and 18.6 miles claimed
- A trainer, not a commuter
- 6-month battery warranty
The E20 is a single wheel with two 14 x 1.75 inch tires side by side, which InMotion pitches as the easiest way to learn. It has a 450W rated motor (900W peak), a 240 Wh pack, a 12.4 mph top speed and a 198 lb load limit at 30 lb, for about $400.
Buy it to learn, or for a household where several people want to try riding. It costs about the same per watt-hour as the 14D Pro but does less.
Skip it if you weigh over 198 lb or want to commute; the 14D Pro does both learning and short trips.
Cheapest
INMOTION E20 Lite
At about $280, the lowest price here, for very short practice rides.
- Battery
- 120 Wh (48V)
- Top speed
- 9.3 mph
- Weight
- 22 lb
- Max load
- Not stated by InMotion
- Motor
- 450W rated (900W peak)
- Suspension
- None
Pros
- Lowest price here
- 22 lb
- 9.3 mph ceiling
- Certified to UL 2272 (per the Amazon listing)
Cons
- 120 Wh and a 9.3-mile claim
- No load limit on the InMotion page we read
- Highest cost per watt-hour on this page
- Specs only on InMotion's service store, not its main US store
The E20 Lite halves the E20's battery to 120 Wh and keeps the 450W rated motor, with a 9.3 mph top speed, a 9.3-mile range claim and a 22 lb weight, per InMotion's service store page. It sells for about $280.
That buys a trainer for short practice sessions and nothing more. Confirm the load limit with InMotion before buying for an adult.
Skip it if you can stretch to the E20, which doubles the battery for about $120 more.
How we chose
We looked at every InMotion and King Song wheel listed under about $1,000 on the makers' US sites or their own Amazon stores on October 9, 2026, then read each maker spec page. Picks are ranked on what the money buys: battery watt-hours, rated motor power, suspension, weight, load limit, certification and warranty.
Cost per watt-hour
Battery is the most expensive part of a wheel, so price divided by watt-hours is a fair value check. Prices are the ones we saw on October 9, 2026 from the maker or the maker's Amazon store, and they change often.
| Wheel | Price seen | Battery | Cost per Wh | Suspension |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| InMotion V8S | $599 (sale, direct) | 728 Wh | $0.82 | None |
| InMotion V9 | $799 | 750 Wh | $1.07 | 60 mm air |
| King Song 16S Pro (just over budget) | $1,099 | 840 Wh | $1.31 | None |
| InMotion E20 | $399 | 240 Wh | $1.66 | None |
| King Song 14D Pro | $699 | 420 Wh | $1.66 | None |
| InMotion V6 | $449 (direct) | 240 Wh | $1.87 | None |
| InMotion E20 Lite | $279 | 120 Wh | $2.33 | None |
What you give up under $1,000
Battery and range
Every wheel here has 750 Wh or less. Our range calculator puts a 750 Wh pack at about 23 miles of mixed riding with a reserve, and InMotion calls 20 to 30 miles typical for the V9. That covers short commutes, not long ones.
Suspension
Only the V9 has it. The rest are rigid wheels, fine on smooth pavement and harsh on broken streets.
Speed
Top speeds here run from 9.3 mph (E20 Lite) to 28 mph (V9). For a first wheel, a low ceiling is a feature: the V8S ships limited to 15.5 mph until you raise it in InMotion's app, and King Song lets you set the 14D Pro's limit in its app. A cheap wheel with a high top speed saves nothing if it tempts you past your skill.
Load limit
The V6 and E20 are rated to 198 lb. The V9, V8S and 14D Pro are rated to 264 to 265 lb. Check yours with gear on.
Charging speed
Budget wheels ship with small chargers: 1.5A on the V8S (about 6 hours) and the E20 (3.5 hours on its smaller pack), 2A on the V9 (5 hours).
Warranty
InMotion's US policy covers the frame, motor and controller for 12 months but the battery and charger for only 6. King Song covers the battery, controller and charger for 1 year and the motor for 1 to 2 years, which is one reason the 14D Pro earns its place despite a higher cost per watt-hour.
Cheap mistakes to avoid
- Unknown brands with no US support. A wheel is only as good as the warranty and parts behind it; buy from the maker, its own store or an authorized dealer.
- A wheel you will outgrow in a month. If you will commute, a few hundred dollars more for the V9 or 14D Pro beats buying twice.
- Spending everything on the wheel. Leave room for a helmet and wrist guards; see our beginner guide for what to wear while learning.
- A used wheel without checks. Used wheels can be good value, but battery health and crash history matter; our used electric unicycle checklist covers what to inspect.
If your budget can stretch, the best electric unicycles overall starts just above $1,000 with the King Song 16S Pro, and our buying guide explains each spec.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best cheap electric unicycle?
The InMotion V9 at about $800 is the best value under $1,000: 60 mm of air suspension, 750 Wh, a 1,000W rated motor, IPX6 and UL 2272. On a tighter budget, the King Song 14D Pro (about $700) and the InMotion V8S ($599 sale, direct) are the picks.
How much does a cheap electric unicycle cost?
New wheels from InMotion and King Song started at about $280 (InMotion E20 Lite trainer) and $400 (E20) in October 2026, with full single-tire wheels from $449 (InMotion V6) to about $800 (InMotion V9). Prices change often, and sale prices are common on the makers' own sites.
Is a cheap electric unicycle worth it?
Yes, if it matches the job. Under $1,000 you give up battery size (750 Wh or less), suspension on all but the V9 and some load capacity, but a wheel like the King Song 14D Pro or InMotion V9 is a real commuter for short trips from a maker with US support.
What is the cheapest electric unicycle for adults?
For adults over 198 lb, the cheapest wheel here with a 264 lb or higher limit is the InMotion V8S at a $599 sale price, bought direct, followed by the King Song 14D Pro at about $700. The cheaper V6 and E20 are rated to 198 lb.
How far does a cheap electric unicycle go?
InMotion calls 20 to 30 miles typical for its 750 Wh V9. Smaller packs go less far: the 240 Wh E20 and V6 claim 18.6 miles and the 120 Wh E20 Lite 9.3 miles, all without stated test conditions. Our range calculator estimates any battery.
Should I buy a used electric unicycle instead?
It can stretch a budget, but check battery health, error history, the tire and shell, and get proof of purchase, since warranties usually need it. InMotion's warranty is written for purchases from its website and King Song's may exclude grey-market purchases, so a used wheel often has no coverage.
Sources
- INMOTION V9 Electric Unicycle, INMOTION
- KingSong 14D Pro Electric Unicycle, KingSong
- INMOTION V8S Electric Unicycle, INMOTION
- INMOTION V6 Electric Unicycle, INMOTION
- INMOTION E20 Electric Unicycle, INMOTION
- INMOTION E20 Lite, INMOTION
- KingSong 16S Pro Electric Unicycle, KingSong
- Warranty, INMOTION
- Warranty Policy, KingSong
Cover photo: Cobblestone Streets by Coen Van, CC0 1.0, via StockSnap. Cropped.
Related guides
Best Electric Unicycles for Beginners (2026): Light, Slow and Forgiving
A first wheel should be light, slow and easy to pick up after a drop. These six fit, from a 22 lb trainer to a 16-inch wheel you will not outgrow quickly.
Best Electric Unicycles for Commuting (2026): Range, Weight and Lights
Six commuter wheels from a 32 lb last-mile wheel to 1,500 Wh suspension wheels, with a planning range for each worked from the battery size.
Best Electric Unicycles of 2026: Picks for Every Rider
Six wheels from InMotion and King Song, from a dual-tire trainer to a 151.2V trail wheel, judged on the makers' own spec sheets.


