
Electric Unicycle Warranty Comparison: InMotion, King Song, Begode, Leaperkim
Affiliate disclosure: product links on this page go to Amazon, or to the maker's own store for brands that sell only direct. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you; a link to a maker's store earns us nothing. No retailer or brand sees our picks before they are published or has any say in them. How we choose.
King Song's published policy gives the broadest cover of the four big electric unicycle makers: 1 to 2 years on the motor, 1 year on the battery, controller, charger, suspension and lights, and King Song pays shipping both ways on a defect reported within 30 days of receipt. InMotion covers the motor and frame for 12 months but most of its batteries for only 6 months, and owners pay shipping after the first 7 days. Begode lists 12 months on the main electrics but normally sends only the replacement part, leaving shipping and labor to you. Leaperkim's own policy could not be read, so Leaperkim buyers rely on the dealer's warranty, one year at both eWheels and Alien Rides.
The catch shared by all of them: the warranty is tied to where you bought the wheel and who bought it. Everything below comes from each company's published warranty policy, read on October 9, 2026.
Coverage by part
| Part | InMotion | King Song | Begode | eWheels (dealer) | Alien Rides (dealer) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Motor | 12 months | 1 to 2 years, by model | 12 months | 1 year (whole wheel; parts not listed separately) | 1 year; bearings 6 months |
| Battery | 6 months (12 on V14 and P6) | 1 year | 12 months | 1 year, battery included | 1 year; opening a pack voids it |
| Controller, mainboard | 12 months | 1 year | 12 months | 1 year | Covered |
| Charger | 6 months | 1 year | 12 months | Not listed separately | Not listed |
| Frame | 12 months | 1 year | Not listed by name | Not listed separately | Not listed |
| Suspension | 6 months | 1 year | 6 months (shocks) | Not listed separately | Wear parts 6 months |
| Lights | 3 months | 1 year | 6 months | Not listed separately | Not listed |
| Shell | Not covered | Limited, case by case | 3 months | Not listed separately | Not listed |
| Tires | Not covered | Consumable | 3 months | Excluded | Not covered |
"Not listed" means the policy does not name that part. Dealer warranties cover the wheels each dealer sells, including Leaperkim, which the dealers sell and whose own policy we could not read. Our brand comparison covers the makers beyond warranty.
Shipping, labor and who is covered
| Term | InMotion | King Song | Begode | eWheels | Alien Rides |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clock starts | Delivery date | Not stated | Carrier's delivery date | Date of purchase | Arrival date |
| Shipping on a claim | InMotion pays within 7 days of delivery; owner pays both ways after | King Song pays both ways within 30 days of receipt; after that owner pays to the service center, King Song pays the return | Owner pays, unless Begode agrees in writing | eWheels pays on dead-on-arrival units; owner pays both ways otherwise | Warranty parts ship free in the continental US; free return if you ship the wheel to San Francisco |
| Labor | Policy says the customer pays shipping, labor and taxes on authorized repairs | Not stated | Owner pays labor and diagnostics | Repair center in Tucson, AZ | Owner pays third-party shop labor |
| Which purchases | inmotionworld.com only; distributors handle their own | Direct and authorized channels; Amazon and dealers may use the seller's terms | begode.com orders only | eWheels purchases | Alien Rides purchases |
| Second owner | Not transferable | Second-hand may not be eligible | Does not transfer | Not addressed | Not addressed |
Begode's wording on the remedy is the one to read twice: it "normally provides the approved replacement part without charging for the part itself," and shipping, labor, diagnostics and taxes are not included. For a failed battery or motor on a 90 lb wheel, shipping alone can be a real cost. King Song's 30-day window is the most generous on shipping, but it is short; a fault that shows up in month three costs you the outbound leg. Our where to buy guide explains how the purchase channel changes all of this.
What voids cover
| Cause | InMotion | King Song | Begode | Alien Rides |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Water damage | Excluded | Excluded | Excluded | Excluded (snow, salt and mud too) |
| Crashes and falls | Excluded | Excluded | Excluded | Excluded |
| Over the weight or speed limit | Excluded (weight limit) | Excluded (overloading) | Excluded (overloading) | Excluded |
| Unofficial firmware | Excluded | Excluded | Excluded | Third-party firmware excluded |
| Opening the battery or unauthorized repair | Excluded | Excluded | Affected part loses cover | Opening a pack voids it |
| Non-approved charger | Excluded | Excluded | Excluded | Not named |
| Racing, jumping, stunts | Misuse excluded | Excluded | Excluded | Not named |
| Commercial or rental use | Excluded | Excluded | Not named | Not named |
A few exclusions stand out. King Song also excludes "high-intensity use that accelerates wear, including off-road riding, steep climbs, heavy payloads, and extreme temperatures," which matters if you bought a suspension wheel for trails. Begode excludes skipping required safety firmware updates, and both Begode and Alien Rides exclude batteries damaged by poor storage: Alien Rides warns that a pack left at 0% for long periods can lose eligibility, and that battery warnings left unaddressed for more than 48 hours can too. On repairs, King Song says third-party repair does not automatically void the whole warranty where the law prohibits that, and Begode says unauthorized work costs cover only on the part affected.
Normal wear is excluded everywhere: tires, pads, scratches and the slow loss of battery capacity with age. InMotion's battery cover is for failures such as not charging, power cutting out, rapid capacity loss, swelling or leaking from a factory defect.
How to make a claim
- InMotion: send order details, proof of purchase from its website, the serial number and photos or video through the contact page; it answers within 1 to 3 business days. Report shipping damage within 7 days of delivery.
- King Song: send the order number, proof of purchase, model, serial number (usually starting "KS"), photos or video, and any error codes or app screenshots; replies usually take 24 to 48 business hours. Do not ship anything before you have an RMA, and report arrival damage within 7 calendar days.
- Begode: contact Begode before any disassembly or shipment, with the order number, purchaser name and email, model, voltage, hardware version, serial number, motor code, mileage, error codes and photos or video. Nothing is approved until Begode confirms in writing.
- Alien Rides: claims go by email or chat, not phone, with video or photo proof and the wheel's serial number; follow up within 30 days. Shipping damage needs a video showing 0 miles on the display within 72 hours of arrival.
Which warranty fits which buyer
For a first wheel or a commuter, King Song's 1-year battery cover and 30-day free-shipping window beat InMotion's 6-month battery cover on most models; InMotion's 12-month battery cover applies only to the V14 and P6. See the model-by-model detail in our King Song and InMotion line-up guides. For trail riders, read King Song's off-road exclusion before you rely on its longer terms. For high-voltage Begode and Leaperkim wheels bought through a dealer, the dealer's one-year warranty, including the battery at eWheels, is the cover you will actually use.
Whatever you buy, keep the receipt, the box and the serial number, and read who the warranty belongs to before you pay. If you are buying used, assume there is no warranty at all; our used wheel checklist covers what to check instead.
Frequently asked questions
Which electric unicycle maker has the longest warranty?
King Song advertises up to 2 years, with 1 to 2 years on the motor depending on model and 1 year on the battery, controller, charger, suspension and lights. InMotion and Begode both give 12 months on the motor, but InMotion covers most batteries for 6 months and Begode supplies replacement parts only.
Does an electric unicycle warranty cover the battery?
Yes, for factory defects, not normal aging. InMotion covers batteries for 6 months, or 12 months on the V14 and P6. King Song and Begode cover them for 1 year and 12 months. Normal capacity loss, over-discharge, poor storage and opening the pack are excluded.
Does riding in the rain void an electric unicycle warranty?
Water damage is excluded by InMotion, King Song, Begode and Alien Rides. Begode's policy states that water-resistant features do not make a product waterproof, and King Song's 16S Pro page says its IP54 rating means water resistant, not waterproof, so a water-related fault is likely to be your cost.
Is an electric unicycle warranty transferable to a second owner?
Generally not. InMotion's warranty is non-transferable and registered to the original purchaser, Begode's does not transfer on resale or gift, and King Song says second-hand purchases may not be eligible. Assume a used wheel has no warranty.
Who pays shipping for an electric unicycle warranty repair?
It depends on the seller. King Song pays both ways on a confirmed defect reported within 30 days of receipt, InMotion pays only within 7 days of delivery, and Begode leaves shipping to the owner. eWheels pays only on dead-on-arrival wheels, while Alien Rides ships warranty parts free within the continental US.
Does off-road riding void an electric unicycle warranty?
It can. King Song excludes high-intensity use that accelerates wear, naming off-road riding, steep climbs and heavy payloads, and both King Song and Begode exclude racing, jumping and stunts. InMotion excludes misuse and use outside the intended purpose. Damage from crashes is excluded by all of them.
Sources
- Warranty Policy, INMOTION
- Warranty Policy, KingSong
- Warranty, BEGODE
- Warranty Details, eWheels
- Warranty Information and Return Policy, Alien Rides
- Return & Refund Policy, INMOTION
- KingSong 16S Pro, KingSong
Cover photo: Workbench Machinery by Lisa Fotios, CC0 1.0, via StockSnap. Cropped.
Related guides
Begode Electric Unicycle Lineup (2026): Every Model on Begode's Store
Eleven Begode wheels, all marked sold out on Begode's own store: what each one is, what Begode publishes, and how its warranty works.
Electric Unicycle Specs Compared (2026): Every Current Model in One Table
A sortable spec table for every current wheel from the four main makers: battery watt-hours, top speed as listed, weight, motor, tire and suspension.
Electric Unicycle vs Electric Scooter: Specs, Size and Price Compared
A scooter is easier to start on; an electric unicycle packs more battery into a smaller footprint. The specs side by side.


